Finalists found for Industry Excellence Awards

Press Release - Entain Australian & NZ
10 July 2024
The finalists for the inaugural Industry Excellence Awards powered by Entain, have been named after more than 100 high-quality entries were received for the awards that recognises the future leaders and rising stars of the New Zealand racing industry.

There are 29 finalists across the nine award categories, and the judges found the selection process challenging, due to the depth and strength of candidates nominated.

“We were hugely impressed by the calibre of the nominations, and it was a great reminder of the absolutely outstanding people we have involved in all areas of the
racing industry in New Zealand,” Entain’s General Manager – New Zealand and member of the judging panel, Jessica Meech, said.

“We’ve got a lot of thinking to do ahead of the awards evening to decide on the nine category winners and select the overall excellence winner.”
The award categories are: Leadership, Equine Handling (Stud or Stable), Greyhound Excellence, Dedication to Breeding, Dedication to Racing, Administrative and Ancillary Services, Care and Welfare, Newcomer and National Racing Woman of the Year.

The finalists and winner for the tenth category, the Entain Excellence Award, will be announced at the awards evening.
Category winners will receive $10,000 with finalists in each category receiving $2,000.
The overall winner will receive an extra $5,000 on top of their $10,000 category win, and a $5,000 educational package.
IRT, Windsor Park Stud, Waikato Stud and Breckon Farms are also valued supporters of the awards and the awards function, which will be held in Auckland on Sunday, 28 July.

Industry Excellence Awards finalists:

Cameron Ring
Sarah Clausen
Hunter Durrant

Equine Handling (Stud or Stable)
Michaela Sobieska
Faith Pollock
Nathan Williamson

Greyhound Excellence
Mikayla Clark
Katie Wyllie
Corey Steele

Dedication to Breeding
Ryan Figgins
Mallory Phillips
Jamie Bartlett

Dedication to Racing
Jazz Leigh
Emma Smith
Sarah O'Reilly

Administrative and Ancillary Services
Jack Collings
Jo Stevens
Scott Buchanan

Care and Welfare
Chanelle Dickie
Anna Baigent
Erika Matterson

Matia Grace
Shannon MacDonald
Raquel Wilkes

National Racing Woman of the Year
Sam Mynott
Caitlin O’Sullivan
Portia Matthews
Emma Smith
Elizabeth Whelan

You might also like