Clubs & Courses

Racing Tauranga

Clubs & Courses Index


Racing Tauranga

Club imagery

The history of horse racing in Tauranga goes back over 140 years when the the Tauranga Jockey Club was formed in 1873. The Government at the time handed over to the trustees’ reserve land at Greerton for a racecourse to be developed. The first race meeting at the new Tauranga Racecourse was held on January 8, 1874. Now run as Racing Tauranga Incorporated Tauranga Racecourse is considered one of the finest provincial racing venues in New Zealand. The racing club hosts 12 thoroughbred race meetings each year including some of the largest meetings in the region; with premier events in March, June and November as well as the hugely popular Christmas at the Races and Summer Festival race days. Hospitality can be enjoyed in a number of lounges on course including the premier Doncaster and Tokyo lounges, both with excellent views of the track. The newly built Champagne Terrace, a covered outdoor area adjacent to the finish line, is ideal for hosting clients, while the new Winners’ Circle bar provides a stylish setting for owners to celebrate their success. The popular Home Straight Gazebo Lawn is a more informal setting, ideal for family groups. Food is available on course.

For details on hospitality packages please contact Andrew Love on 07 578 6102 or via email at [email protected]
The TAB provides EFTPOS (Credit Cards NOT useable) in the main public areas and from the Secretary’s office.
Membership: Annual subscription $50
Includes: Free entry to all race days, access to the Members Lounge overlooking the track, complimentary race book, and reciprocal rights with Auckland Racing Club, Cambridge Jockey Club, Matamata RC, Rotorua RC, Taupo RC, Te Aroha RC, Waikato RC, Thames Jockey Club and Taumarunui Racing Club.

Contact details

1383 Cameron Road
Greerton, 3112
PO Box 3076
Tauranga, 3142
Phone: 07 578 6102
[email protected]
General Manager: Louise Dean
Sponsorship & Events: Andrew Love
Track Manager: Craig Settle

All meetings



The following courses are used by Racing Tauranga: