Meeting News

New Zealand Summer Series Bonus Points Structure

Last week, Entain Australia and New Zealand and New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing collectively announced the inaugural New Zealand Summer Series Bonus, whereby New Zealand and Australia’s leading middle-distance horses will compete for a lucrative purse of $650,000 in bonuses.

The bonus structure for entry and Series races has been finalised by NZTR, with the overall winner being determined by a points system, and points weighted towards the Series races as indicated below.

Points Structure for Entry and Series Races

Bonus Structure (Total bonus, including Trainer payment)

  • Series winner: $500k
  • Series runner up: $100k
  • Series third placegetter: $50k

*Mandatory 10% Trainer payment to be paid from bonus amounts listed above.

To be eligible for the winning bonus, a horse will need to run in one of the two 1600-metre entry races – the $400,000 Harcourts Thorndon Mile at Trentham on 20 January or the new $1,000,000 Elsdon Park Aotearoa Classic at Ellerslie on 27 January, held on TAB Karaka Millions night. The Series will then progress towards two of New Zealand’s most iconic 2000-metre races – the $600,000 Herbie Dyke Stakes at Te Rapa on 10 February and the $450,000 Bonecrusher New Zealand Stakes at Ellerslie on 9 March.

Learn more about the New Zealand Summer Series Bonus here.