$175k NZB Kiwi Bonus Challenge

7 June 2024

New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing (NZTR) is thrilled to announce a raft of new initiatives aimed at further enhancing the country’s first-ever Thoroughbred slot race, The NZB Kiwi, set to be run on 8 March 2025 at Ellerslie Racecourse.

$175k NZB Kiwi Bonus Challenge

In a move to further reward foundation Slot Holders for their support, NZTR will offer a brand new $175k NZB Kiwi Bonus Challenge for three-year-olds participating in the 2025 edition of the NZB Kiwi.

Once a Slot Holder has nominated their runner for the 2025 NZB Kiwi, that horse will be able to accumulate points by placing in the top three in any race it enters leading up to Champions Day next year.

The three horses who start The NZB Kiwi with the highest points accumulated before the race will earn a share of the $175k NZB Kiwi Bonus Challenge, with $100k awarded to the winner, $50k to second place and $25k for the third placegetter.

NZTR Chairman Cameron George is excited to announce yet another incentive, boosting The NZB Kiwi in its inaugural year.

“We are delighted to be able to offer another Bonus aimed at rewarding our foundation Slot Holders for their strong support of this new race in year one.”

“This new Bonus will enhance the promotional activity of both the Slot Holders and their horses, building anticipation from the moment the runners are nominated for The NZB Kiwi, right up until they enter the starting gates on Champions Day.

“Once a horse is nominated, we anticipate heated competition between our Slot Holders as they battle it out to score the highest number of points and a hefty prize,” George said.

Points for the $175k NZB Kiwi Bonus Challenge can be earned in both New Zealand and Australia where a NZB Kiwi runner places in the top three of any race it enters and will be allocated as follows:

NZB Kiwi Bonus Eligible Race Points

  • 1st Place – 11 points
  • 2nd Place – 7 points
  • 3rd Place – 5 points

Black-Type and Special Condition Race Points

  • 1st Place – 8 points
  • 2nd Place – 4 points
  • 3rd Place – 2 points

Non-Black Type Race Points

  • 1st Place – 4 points
  • 2nd Place – 2 points
  • 3rd Place – 1 point

View the full $175k NZB Kiwi Bonus Challenge Terms and Conditions here.

NZTR Public Slot Auction

NZTR is excited to announce a second initiative as part of the NZB Kiwi programme, including the public auction of NZTR’s year-one Slot for The NZB Kiwi. This auction will take place at New Zealand Bloodstock’s 2024 Ready to Run Sale of Two-Year-Olds, held next November at the Karaka Sales Centre.

The one-year Slot will be sold on behalf of NZTR, with 50% of the Above Reserve Fee ($125k) being donated to charity. Each current Slot Holder will nominate a charity aligned with a horse in the first New Zealand-based Bonus Eligible race next season, the Group 2 James and Annie Sarten Memorial (1400m) at Te Rapa Racecourse in October.

The mechanics include:

  • NZTR will receive 14 charity nominations from each Slot Holder for the race.
  • The 14 Slot Holders will be randomly allocated a horse in the field. If there are less than 14 runners e,g., 12 runners in the field, the first 12 Slot Holders drawn will be randomly allocated a horse.
  • The charity attached to the winning horse of the Group 2 James and Annie Sarten Memorial (1400m) will be the beneficiary of NZTR’s Public Slot Auction proceeds in November.

Cameron George commented on the public auction announcement.

“Earlier this year, we saw plenty of fireworks in the Karaka sales ring at the inaugural NZB Kiwi Slot Auction.”

“NZTR would like to offer another opportunity to those who missed out on a spot, giving them the chance to score a share of over $4.5 million in stakes and bonuses in year one we have implemented for next season’s race.

“We know that spring three-year-olds will already be in full force, with potential buyers hopefully being able to identify their runner at the time of this auction.

“We are also looking forward to donating a portion of our proceeds to a charity chosen by one of our current Slot Holders for the first year of the race,” George said.

New Australian Bonus Eligible Races

NZTR has announced the inclusion of two prestigious Australian races in the lineup of its iconic Bonus Eligible races. This expansion allows Australasia’s fastest juveniles to compete for their share of an additional $1 million in bonuses for The NZB Kiwi.

The two newly included races will take place during Australia’s Spring Racing Carnival and feature the 2024 editions of:

  • The A$1m Group 2 Callander-Presnell Stakes (1600m), held at the Australian Turf Club’s meeting at Royal Randwick on Saturday 26 October.
  • The A$500k Group 3 Carbine Club Stakes (1600m), held on Saturday 2 November, during the Victoria Racing Club’s Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington Racecourse.

To be eligible for a share in the $1 million bonus pool, a horse must win one of the various Bonus Eligible iconic New Zealand and/or Australian races and also run a top three placing in The NZB Kiwi held on Champions Day next year.

The full lineup of Bonus Eligible Races is provided below:

  • Gr.1 Courtesy Ford Manawatu Sires Produce Stakes (1400m) - Manawatu Racing Club at RACE Trentham - Saturday 6 April 2024 (Already completed).
  • Gr.2 Callander Presnell Stakes (1600m) – Australian Turf Club at Royal Randwick – Saturday 26 October 2024
  • Gr.2 James and Annie Sarten Memorial (1400m) - Waikato Thoroughbred Racing at Te Rapa Racecourse - Monday 28 October 2024
  • Gr.3 Carbine Club Stakes (1600m) – Victoria Racing Club at Flemington Racecourse – Saturday 2 November 2024
  • Gr.1 Barneswood Farm One Thousand Guineas (1600m) - Canterbury Jockey Club at Riccarton Park - Saturday 9 November 2024
  • Gr.1 Al Basti Dubai Equiworld New Zealand Two Thousand Guineas (1600m) - Canterbury Jockey Club at Riccarton Park - Saturday 16 November 2024
  • Gr.1 Cambridge Stud Levin Classic (1400m) - Wellington Racing Club at RACE Trentham - Saturday 11 January 2025
  • Listed TAB Karaka Millions 3YO (1600m) – Auckland Thoroughbred Racing at Ellerslie Racecourse - Saturday 25 January 2025
  • Gr.2 Cambridge Stud Alamanzor Trophy (1200m) - Auckland Thoroughbred Racing at Ellerslie Racecourse - Saturday 25 January 2025
  • Gr.1 BCD Group Sprint (1400m) - Waikato Thoroughbred Racing at Te Rapa Racecourse - Saturday 8 February 2025

View more information about The NZB Kiwi Bonus Eligible races here.

You might also like