New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders' Association


The New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association (NZTBA) has been representing and advocating for breeders’ since the 1940s.

Ken Austin, Chairman of the Association during its establishment and early years, first described the purpose of the NZTBA in 1948 and those words still ring true today – “to encourage, promote, advance generally and ensure co-operative efforts in all matters pertaining to the production and improvement of the thoroughbred and the interests of thoroughbred breeders.”

Made up of eight regional branches, the NZTBA has around 1300 members and is involved in the administration, planning, consultation and implementation of a variety of issues both on a national and international level.

Currently the NZTBA is involved in a range of initiatives including working with government agencies regarding issues that affect thoroughbred breeders such as environment and sustainability, developing equine welfare awareness, improving health and safety protocol, and supporting equine research.

The NZTBA also administer the NZB Insurance Pearl Series, which offers bonuses and prizemoney of almost $2.6 million and prizemoney of nearly $2.8 million to registered southern hemisphere-bred fillies and mares.

The NZTBA’s headquarters are in the heart of thoroughbred country, Cambridge, where members and interested parties are welcome to visit to talk to staff and peruse the Stead Memorial Library which houses past Stallion Registers, magazines and historical books of reference. The current annual subscription is NZ$195.00 which, as well as advice and industry representation, includes: the annual Stallion Register, reciprocal raceday privileges, cipher brand registration, training and education opportunities, regular digital news updates, branch events and sponsor discounts.
To find out more about the history of the NZTBA click here

New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders' Association
PO Box 1058
Cambridge 3450
New Zealand

New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders' Association
9 Anzac Street
Cambridge 3434
New Zealand

For more information about NZTBA membership please email [email protected] or Ph: 07 827 7727

Click here to become a member.


New Zealand Jockeys' Association

The NZ Jockeys' Association represents the interests of New Zealand's 220 Jockeys, which consists of Amateur Riders, Apprentice Jockeys, and Jumps’ Jockeys.

Benefits of Membership

  • Regular liaison with New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing
  • Regular liaison with the New Zealand Racing Board
  • Representation on the Equine Training Council and the Advisory Council
  • Contact with all Racing Clubs
  • Regular newsletters that will keep you up to date and informed of the activities of the Association and the Racing industry
  • On and Off course promotions for Jockeys
  • A Racing Calendar Diary which will be directly posted to you. The Diary covers all Race Meetings for the season and contains all the addresses and telephone numbers of Jockeys and Trainers
  • Complimentary Spouse Badge entitling course and stand admission for partners
  • Regular meetings, and social events throughout the year
  • An organized, operational and enthusiastic Association

Contact details

National President:
Andrew Lacy
M: 027 240 6020
E: [email protected]

New Zealand Trainers' Association

NZ Trainers' AssociationThe NZ Trainers’ Association is made up of five regional branches: Northern, Taranaki, Central Districts, Canterbury and Southern - with sub-branch Otago.

The National Executive comprises the National President, two Vice Presidents, five branch Presidents and any sub-branch Presidents. Regional matters are managed by the relevant Branch President in conjunction with the Executive Officer if deemed necessary, while national issues are handled by the National President and Executive Officer.

As a recognised racing industry organisation, the NZTA is invited to make submissions on those issues that may affect its members.

Current executive are as follows:
National President: Tony Pike
National Vice President: Moira Murdoch
National Vice President: Michael Pitman
Northern Branch - President: Andrew Forsman
Central Districts - President: Gary Vile
Canterbury Branch President: Andrew Carston 
Taranaki Representative: John Wheeler
Southern Branch President: Sally McKay
Otago sub-branch President: Jim Burns
Executive Officer: Wendy Cooper
PO Box 300-073
Albany 0752
T: 09 412 6225
M: 021 927 776

New Zealand Thoroughbred Racehorse Owners Federation

“To promote and safeguard the interests and privileges of Thoroughbred Racehorse Owners”
  1. To promote membership of the Federation to thoroughbred racehorse owners within New Zealand.
  2. Generally, to take all necessary steps to promote, develop, maintain ad safeguard the interests, rights and privileges of thoroughbred racehorse owners.
  3. To review all matters relating to or arising from legislation; to consider existing statutes and their effects on owners; to originate and promote such beneficial amendments as may from time to time be found.
  4. To represent the general interests of all thoroughbred racehorse owners in discussions with other racing industry organisations.
  5. To promote and facilitate activities between owners at a provincial, island and national inter area association levels
  6. To make submissions, policies or comments on any legislation law reform, report, document or proposal affecting the interests of thoroughbred racehorse owners and the racing industry generally.
  7. To do such things as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of such objects.
  • Relationship Management & Partnering
  • Owners’ Race-day Experience
  • Monitoring expenses associated with racehorse ownership
National Federation
President: Bernard Hickey
e: [email protected]
Secretary: Jim Keyte
027 276 0464
Owners delegate on the NZTR Members Council: Bernard Hickey
New Zealand Thoroughbred Racehorse Owners Federation
PO Box 14027
Hamilton 3252