Mufhasa crowned Horse of the Year 2012

Wednesday 12 September

‹ Back to Press Release listings

Mufhasa, at the grand age of eight and winner of over $3 million , was crowned Horse of the Year at New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing’s 2012 Horse of the Year Awards, held in Hamilton last night.

Votes were overwhelmingly in his favour, totalling 37 of a possible 43. This is the second time Mufhasa has won the title following his win in 2010. Mufhasa won the Group One Futurity at Caulfield, Group One Westbury Stud Captain Cook Stakes at Wellington, Group One Toorak Handicap at Caulfield and Group One Makfi Challenge Stakes at Hastings.

All winners and finalists, with vote counts, are here.

Mufhasa was also named 2012 Champion Sprinter; Jimmy Choux, last year’s Horse of the Year, was crowned Champion Middle Distance Horse; Shez Sinsational. Champion Stayer; Warhorse, Champion Two-Year-Old; Silent Achiever, Champion Three-Year-Old; Planet Rock, New Zealand Bloodstock Champion Three Year Old Filly; and Ima Heroine, Champion Jumps Horse.

Retired Trainer, Trevor McKee ONZM, received the Award for Outstanding Contribution to Racing. Horses he has trained have been inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame, have been Timeform World Champion, Horse of the Year - both in New Zealand and Australia - and at the head of the ANZ Classification as well as crowned Australasia's All-time Leading Earner.

James McDonald was voted the Champion Jockey 2012; John Sargent, the Dunstan Champion Trainer; Richard Cully, Champion Jumps Jockey; and Jason Collett, the McBeath Champion Apprentice Rider.

Karyn Fenton-Ellis, Trackside TV Presenter and one of the two MC’s at the Awards Dinner, won the Media Award; The Oaks Stud, owner of Artistic, Zurella and other top class horses, was awarded the Owner of the Year.

Piper Farm Ltd (Alex and Cecile Smith), breeders of So You Think and Now You Know, took the Breeder of the Year Award; and Triassic, dam of So You Think and Now You Know won the Broodmare of the Year for the second year running.

Matthew Goodson, Chairman of NZTR, offered his congratulations to all winners and finalists nominated for this year’s Awards: “The last twelve months have seen some great performances by New Zealand horses, horsemen and horsewomen.”

“Tonight we celebrated not only our outstanding horses, but also their owners, breeders, trainers and riders, and the Outstanding Contribution to Racing Award, presented this year to Trevor McKee.”

“It is important we celebrate all our successes and recognise how much every one of these, both winners and nominees, has promoted our racing and breeding industries.”

Trackside TV will be showing a 30-minute programme of the NZTR Horse of the Year Awards at the following times:

8pm Saturday 18th September        
1am & 11am Sunday 16th September           
7am Monday 17th September         
12.30am Tuesday 18th September           
7.30am Wednesday 19th September