NZTR Members' Council Appoints New Director to the Board

Wednesday 12 November

‹ Back to Press Release listings

The Members’ Council of New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing (NZTR) has appointed Rick Williams to the vacant seat on the NZTR Board following Joe Walls’s retirement at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting held yesterday in Wellington.

Wayne Guppy, Chairman of the Council, stated:  “The Council reviewed all applications and agreed to appoint Rick Williams to the vacant seat on the Board and retain the skills of the three directors retiring by rotation, Greg McCarthy, Ben Nettleton and Victoria Carter.”

“Rick will bring enormous racing knowledge and experience to the Board. He has had 30 years of experience as an owner, breeder and manager of commercial stud farms in New Zealand and for the past decade he has also managed the Oaks racing team.”

Rick graduated from Massey University with a Bachelor of Agricultural Science majoring in Farm Management, Economics and Marketing. He has managed Waikato Stud, Bloomsbury Stud and is currently General Manager of the Oaks Stud and Manager of the Oaks Racing Team for owner Dick Karreman.

Karreman’s blue and white silks are a familiar sight at New Zealand and Australian race meetings with horses such as Seachange, Keeninsky, Keepa Cruisin, Magnetism, Chant, Diamond Deck, Roman Chariot, Obsession, Crossthestart, Artistic, Zurella, Smoulder and Innocent Lady.    

Rick served on the Council of the Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association for seven years.

Wayne Guppy added: “The Council followed a thorough process and I thank all members of the Council for their meticulous approach to this governance role.”

“We look forward to working with Rick and the other five members of the NZTR Board to continue the progress they have made in ensuring a sustainable model for thoroughbred racing.”

“I also take this opportunity to reiterate Matthew’s words at yesterday’s AGM and thank Joe Walls for his three and a half years of valuable service on the Board.”

The current NZTR Board Chairman, Matthew Goodson, was re-elected Chairman at a meeting after the Annual General Meeting and Victoria Carter was elected Deputy Chair to replace Joe Walls.

The 12-person NZTR Members’ Council was set up in March 2011 and charged with responsibility for all aspects of appointing and reviewing the performance of the six independent Directors of the NZTR Board.

At the AGM, Bruce Perry retired from the Council and Paul Kenny (Northern Region) and Paul Humphries (Central Region) joined the Council.

See the full release: HERE